Website last updated: 16-8-2017

28 MAY 2017

By: Anders Frejdh
This day marks the 109th anniversary of the birth of Ian Fleming, the creator and man behind the literary James Bond, still a hugely popular character around the globe.

Books about Ian Fleming that FSWL considers essential reading for James Bond scholars include Andrew Lycett's brilliant biography Ian Fleming: The Man behind James Bond, John Griswold's Ian Fleming's James Bond: Annotations and Chronologies for Ian Fleming's Bond Stories, and Jon Gilbert's Ian Fleming: The Bibliography.

About Ian Fleming:
Ian Lancaster Fleming was born at 27 Green Street in London on 28th May 1908, the second of four brothers. He was educated at Eton College and then abroad in Germany and Austria.

After an early career at Reuters news agency, he became a stockbroker. During World War 2 he worked throughout as assistant to the Director of Naval Intelligence in the Admiralty in London, privy to many secrets. It was his experience in this job that was to provide many of the characters and incidents that he was to write about later in the Bond books.

Following the war he became foreign manager, in charge of foreign correspondents, for Kemsley newspapers, owners of the Sunday Times and other papers. But his creative imagination remained under wraps until 1952, When, at the age of 43, he settled down in his house in Jamaica, and produced – in not much more than two months - Casino Royale (1953), the first adventure of James Bond. He published a further thirteen James Bond titles and lived to witness their enourmous success, and having seen his character played by Sean Connery in the first two films, Dr. No (1962) and From Russia with Love (1963) (1963).

He married Anne Rothermere in 1952 and in August that year his only son, Caspar, was born. While convalescing from his first heart attack in 1962, he wrote a short story about a flying car for Caspar - Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Ian Fleming died, aged 56, on 12th August 1964 at Sandwich in Kent.

Ian Fleming bibliography:
>Casino Royale (1953)
>Live and Let Die (1954)
>Moonraker (1955)
>Diamonds are forever (1956)
>From Russia With Love (1957)
>The Diamond Smugglers (1957) (non James Bond-novel)
>Dr. No (1958)
>Goldfinger (1959)
>For Your Eyes Only (1960)
>Thunderball (1961)
>The Spy Who Loved Me (1962)
>On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1963)
>Thrilling Cities (1963) (travel book)
>Ian Fleming introduces Jamaica (1963)
>You Only Live Twice (1964)
>Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1964) (children's book)
>The Man with the Golden Gun (1965)
>Octopussy and The Living Daylights (1966)

Fleming's Bond books is now available as audiobooks from AudioGo: (Highly recommended)
>Casino Royale (published on 6th September 2012)
>Diamonds are Forever (6 September 2012)
>Doctor No (6 September 2012)
>From Russia with Love (6 September 2012)
>Goldfinger (6 September 2012)
>Live and Let Die (6 September 2012)
>Moonraker (6 September 2012)
>On Her Majesty's Secret Service (6 September 2012)
>The Man With the Golden Gun (6 September 2012)
>The Spy Who Loved Me (6 September 2012)
>Thunderball (6 September 2012)
>You Only Live Twice (6 September 2012)

Editor's note:
Ian Fleming Publications celebrated Ian's centenary during 2008 and Sebastian Faulks first original James Bond novel Devil May Care (2008) was published by Penguin Books.

Centenary editions of Ian Fleming's 007 novels featured on From Sweden with Love:
>Casino Royale (May, 2008)
>Diamonds are Forever (May, 2008)
>Dr. No (May, 2008)
>For Your Eyes Only (May, 2008)
>From Russia with Love (May, 2008)
>Goldfinger (May, 2008)
>Live and Let Die (May, 2008)
>Moonraker (May, 2008)
>Octopussy (May, 2008)
>On Her Majesty's Secret Service (May, 2008)
>The Man With the Golden Gun (May, 2008)
>The Spy Who Loved Me (May, 2008)
>Thunderball (May, 2008)
>You Only Live Twice (May, 2008)

Centenary celebrations of Ian Fleming's birth featured on From Sweden with Love:
>Royal Mail stamps (January, 2008)
>Exhibition at Imperial War Museum in London (April 2008-March 2009)
>Ian Fleming centenary lecture (May 12, 2008)
>Doctor No play on BBC 4 (May 24, 2008)
>Bond: The story continues by Lucy Fleming (May 28, 2008)
>Limited edition book set (May 28, 2008)
>Bond Bound exhibition in London (April-June, 2008)
>Golf tournament at Royal St. Georges (June 25, 2008)
>Bond Bound exhibition in Edinburgh (July-September, 2008)
>James Bond story: A tribute to Ian Fleming (October 5, 2008)
>Where Bond began on BBC 1 (October 19, 2008)
>Bond Bound exhibition in New York (October-November, 2008)
>Bond Bound exhibition in Los Angeles (November, 2008)

Photo above:
Ian Fleming in his study with a copy of For Your Eyes Only (April 1960). Photo by Evening Standard. © Getty Images. All rights reserved.

More information about Ian Fleming and his works on Ian Fleming Publications official website:



All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2017 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM, Sony Pictures and United Artists Cooperation

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2017 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions.

Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh