Website last updated: 7-2-2023

In Memoriam: Never Say Never Again composer Michel Legrand

By: Anders Frejdh
Michel Legrand Never Say Never Again
FSWL and the film music world mourns the passing of three times Academy Award-winning French film composer Michel Legrand who composed the music for the 1983 James Bond film Never Say Never Again starring Sean Connery as Ian Fleming's 007. Michel died on 26th January 2019 and our thoughts now goes to Michel's family and friends.

Official announcement of Michel Legrand's passing from his management

“This is with great sadness that we have to announce the passing away of our friend and artist Michel Legrand who left us peacefully this Saturday 26th January.

He changed the meaning of music in films with his sense of rhythm and his absolute passion for life.

Goodbye to our dearest Michel Legrand, thank you for 21 years of friendship, partnership and music.

Our thoughts are with his wife and family during this sad time...

RIP from City Lights, Philippe, Hervé, Dora and Diana.”

Never Say Never Again soundtrack
Back cover of the soundtrack for Never Say Never Again. © 1995 Taliafilm Inc./Silva Screen Records Ltd. All rights reserved.

A selection of the over 200 films that Michel Legrand worked on from 1955 to 2018

1968: The Thomas Crown Affair (for which he won his first Oscar®) starring Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway
1971: Le Mans with Steve McQueen (for which Michel was nominated for a Golden Globe)
1971: The Go-Between starring Julie Christie
1972: Summer of '42 (for which he won a second Oscar®) starring Jennifer O'Neill and Gary Grimes
1973: The Three Musketeers starring Oliver Reed and Raquel Welch
1983: Yentl (for which he won his third and last Oscar®) starring Barbara Streisand

Michel Legrand (1932-2019)
Michel Legrand (1932-2019) at one of his last public performances. © 2018 City Lights Entertainment UK. All rights reserved.

For more information about Michel Legrand and his work composing film music, visit his official site.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2023 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2023 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh