Website last updated: 8-7-2024

Interview with screenwriters Neal Purvis & Robert Wade

By: Anders Frejdh
Neal purvis robert wade 2012 interview
For the 50th anniversary of James Bond on the big screen, From Sweden with Love (Anders Frejdh) caught up with Neal Purvis and Robert Wade, the English screenwriters who have penned the last five 007 films (The World Is Not Enough (1999), Die Another Day (2002), Casino Royale (2006), Quantum of Solace (2008) and Skyfall (2012)).


About Neal Purvis & Robert Wade:
Neal and Robert had their first success in 1991 with the screenplay of the controversial drama Let Him Have It. The critically acclaimed film, directed by Peter Medak, was screened for Parliament and played a part in Derek Bentley's eventual posthumous pardon.

They have worked in a variety of genres with screenplays such as Plunkett and Macleane (1999), starring Robert Carlyle and Liv Tyler, Johnny English (2003) starring Rowan Atkinson and John Malkovich, and worked on The Italian Job (2003) starring Mark Wahlberg and Edward Norton. As well as writing the James Bond films THE WORLD IS NOT ENOUGH and DIE ANOTHER DAY, they wrote and co-produced Return to Sender (2004) for director Bille August and performed the same duties on Stoned (2005) for director Stephen Woolley.

For CASINO ROYALE they received two BAFTA nominations as well as an EDGAR nomination from the Mystery Writers of America. They have since co-written QUANTUM OF SOLACE and adapted John le Carré’s The Mission Song for Potboiler Films.

Having co-written SKYFALL, they are now producing their own Corsica ’72, an epic crime drama to be directed by Chan-Wook Park, as well as Cocaine Nights, their recent adaptation of the novel by JG Ballard.

Editor's note:
In 2011, the sequel to Johnny English was released, Johnny English Reborn, based on Purvis' and Wade's characters in the first film.

Photo above:
A personal portrait of Neal Purvis and Robert Wade. © 2012 EON Productions. All rights reserved.

Check out writers Neal Purvis and Robert Wade's joint CV at their agent's website:



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh