Website last updated: 7-5-2024

Per Hallberg (Swedish Sound Editor)

By: Anders Frejdh
Per Hallberg Anders Frejdh
Supervising Sound Editor on SKYFALL (2012) and SPECTRE (2015)

I was delighted to finally meet the very talented Academy Award winner Per Hallberg after an invitation to visit his studio in Hollywood.

Much like the rumour, Per is a great guy - very humble and down to earth. His work on Skyfall was evidently brilliant (won the Oscar for Best Sound Editing) and he should be proud of his work.

About Per Hallberg:
Born 1958 in Borgholm, a small town on Öland, the second biggest island of Sweden. In the mid 1980's he moved to America.

The accomplished sound editor has worked on over 70 films including several blockbusters. He has won three Academy Awards for Best Sound Editing for the films Braveheart (1995), The Bourne Ultimatum (2007) and Skyfall (2012). He was also nominated for the award for Face/Off (1997).

Like the Bond film sound editor Colin Miller, Hallberg has received several Golden Reel awards. In Per's case for Braveheart, Gladiator (2000), Black Hawk Down (2001), The Bourne Ultimatum and Skyfall.

Since October 2013, Hallberg (and his long-time colleague Karen Baker Landers) works for Formosa Group, a newly founded post-production sound company. Prior to that, the multi-awarded pair worked for noted Hollywood company Soundelux for almost 28 years.

Per's current projects include Daniel Espinosa's new film Child 44 and Gary Shore's Dracula Untold.

Other Swedish people in the James Bond films on FSWL:
>Anne Lönnberg (Moonraker)
>Britt Ekland (The Man with the Golden Gun)
>Dolph Lundgren (A View to a Kill)
>Izabella Scorupco (GoldenEye)
>Jens Hultén (Skyfall)
>Kristina Wayborn (Octopussy)
>Mary Stavin (Octopussy & A View to a Kill)
>Maud Adams (The Man with the Golden Gun & Octopussy)
>Ola Rapace (Skyfall)

(Yours truly appeared as extra in Quantum of Solace.)

Photo above:
FSWL's founder Anders Frejdh with Per Hallberg in Hollywood. Photo by Greg Bechtloff. © 2014 From Sweden with Love.

This article written and published by Anders Frejdh in March 2014.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh