Website last updated: 7-5-2024

Sam Smith wins Oscar® for SPECTRE theme song

By: Anders Frejdh
Sam Smith Writings On The Wall 2016 Oscars
Sam Smith & Jimmy Napes won the Oscar® for Best Song at the 88th Academy Awards ceremony in Los Angeles and FSWL would like to take this opportunity and congratulate Sam & Jimmy to the incredible success with their theme song for SPECTRE (2015), Writing's On The Wall.

"A well-written ballad that demonstrates the full range of Sam Smith's extraordinary voice and already is a classic Bond song that grows every time you hear it." – Anders Frejdh

Official message posted on on 29th February, 2016:

"Singer/Songwriter Sam Smith has won the Academy Award for Best Original Song for "Writing’s On The Wall" at last night’s Oscar ceremony in Los Angeles. The theme song from SPECTRE was co-written by Smith and Jimmy Napes and follows the Golden Globe win in January. This is the second Bond film in a row that has achieved the Academy Award for Best Original Song after Adele’s win in 2013 with Skyfall (2012)."

Editor's note:
Previous Academy Awards to the James Bond franchise include one to Norman Wanstall for Best Sound Effects (now Sound Editing) after his work on Goldfinger (1964), one to John Stears for Best Visual Effects after his work on Thunderball (1965), one to Per Hallberg & Karen Baker Landers for Best Sound Editing after their work on SKYFALL, and one to Adele & Paul Epworth for Best Original Song (also for Skyfall). Additionally, several of the songs produced for the films have been nominated for Academy Awards for Best Original Song, including Paul McCartney's Live and Let Die, Carly Simon & Marvin Hamlish for "Nobody Does It Better" (theme song for The Spy Who Loved Me) and Sheena Easton & Bill Conti for For Your Eyes Only. Plus, in 1982, Albert R. Broccoli received the prestigious Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award.

Photo above:
Sam Smith & Jimmy Napes with their Oscar® statuette for Writing's on the Wall at the Vanity Fair after-party. © 2016 Danjaq LLC. & Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM). All rights reserved.

Order SPECTRE on Blu-ray for 15 GBP from Amazon UK and have it delivered for FREE:



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh