Website last updated: 7-5-2024

Sam Mendes to receive the Stockholm Visionary Award 2022

By: FSWL team
Sam Mendes Stockholm Visionary Award 2022
This year’s recipient of the Stockholm International Film Festival Visionary Award, will be the multi award winning British film director Sam Mendes. Mendes will be coming to Stockholm with his new film Empire of Light, which will have it’s Swedish Premiere on Friday 11 November, where Sam Mendes will receive the festival’s Visionary Award 2022 for visionary filmmakers with a unique eye for the craft.

Stockholm Visionary Award 2022 is awarded to a director who has his roots within the theater and took the world of cinema by storm and won the Oscar for his directorial debut, thereby writing himself into film history. With ease he moves between the theater world and major Hollywood productions, which gives him a unique versatility and elusive depth. With a sharp gaze, masterful craftsmanship and lyrical cinematic language, he captivates the audience. This year's Stockholm Visionary Award is presented to Sam Mendes.

Empire of Light is a moving drama about the power of human connection during turbulent times. Set in and around a faded old cinema in an English costal town in the early 1980s, it follows Hilary (Olivia Colman) a cinema manager struggling with her mental health and Stephen (Michael Ward), a new employee who longs to escape this provincial town in which he faces daily adversity. Both Hilary and Stephen find a sense of belonging through their unlikely and tender relationship and come to experience the healing power of music, cinema and community.

Empire of Light also reunites Mendes with Academy Award winning cinematographer Roger Deakins (1917, Skyfall).

Sam Mendes founded and ran the Donmar Warehouse in London for ten years. He was the founding director of Neal Street Productions and The Bridge Project. His work has been seen at the National Theatre, RSC, Royal Court, Old Vic, Young Vic, BAM, the West End and on Broadway. Films include American Beauty, Road to Perdition, Jarhead, Revolutionary Road, Away We Go, Skyfall (2012), Spectre (2015), 1917 and most recently Empire of Light. Awards include the Academy Award for Best Director and Best Picture and three other Academy Award nominations, five BAFTA Awards, three Golden Globe Awards, three Tony Awards, five Olivier Awards, the Olivier Special Award, three Evening Standard Awards, two Directors Guild of America Awards, the PGA award, the Jason Robards Award, and the Hamburg Shakespeare Prize. He has also won the Director’s Guild Award for lifetime achievement. He is an Honorary Fellow of the National Film and Television School, and a Fellow of Peterhouse, Cambridge. He was made a CBE in 2000 and knighted in 2020 for services to drama.

The Stockholm Visionary Awards was established in 2004 and the Bronze Horse Film Award weights 7.3 kilos and is thus the world’s heaven’s film award. Previous winners include Joachim Trier (2021), Celine Sciamma (2019), Roy Andersson (2014), Jacques Audiard (2012), Wong Kar-Wai (2008) and Wes Anderson (2007).



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh