Website last updated: 7-5-2024

Explosive prequel to Casino Royale written by Anthony Horowitz

By: FSWL team
Forever and a Day James Bond Anthony Horowitz
’007 is dead’ - Forever and a Day: An explosive prequel to Ian Fleming's Casino Royale written by Anthony Horowitz.

The second official James Bond novel written by Anthony Horowitz, using original material by Ian Fleming, will be published on Thursday 31 May 2018, it is announced today. Forever and a Day is a prequel to Casino Royale, Fleming’s first 007 novel, and will explore the origins of the world’s most famous secret agent.

Synopsis for Forever and a Day written by Anthony Horowitz

M laid down his pipe and stared at it tetchily. “We have no choice. We’re just going to bring forward this other chap you’ve been preparing. But you didn’t tell me his name.”
“It’s Bond, sir,” the Chief of Staff replied.
“James Bond.”

The sea keeps its secrets. But not this time.

One body. Three bullets. 007 floats in the waters of Marseille, killed by an unknown hand.

It’s time for a new agent to step up. Time for a new weapon in the war against organised crime.

It’s time for James Bond to earn his licence to kill.

This is the story of the birth of a legend, in the brutal underworld of the French Riviera.

James Bond Forever And A Day Anthony Horowitz
Forever and a Day will be published in the UK by Jonathan Cape – Ian Fleming’s original publisher and an imprint of Vintage Publishing.

‘I couldn't have been happier when the Ian Fleming estate invited me back to write a second Bond. I very much enjoyed writing Forever and a Day, exploring what might have been Bond’s first mission and imagining some of the forces that might have turned him into the iconic figure that the whole world knows. I hope Ian Fleming would have approved!’ – Anthony Horowitz

‘This is an excellent novel in the best tradition of Ian Fleming. His family would like to congratulate Anthony on such a superb achievement’ – Fergus Fleming, nephew of Ian Fleming and Chairman of Ian Fleming Publications Ltd.

‘Anthony Horowitz has written the ultimate Bond novel – Forever and a Day is a thrilling ride from the very first page. It’s a book that will not only appeal to Bond fans but it will introduce Bond to a whole new generation of readers with the extraordinary story of how he got his licence to kill.’ – Michal Shavit, Publishing Director, Jonathan Cape

Editor's Note
Forever and a Day by Anthony Horowitz will be published in print, ebook and audio editions on 31 May 2018 by Jonathan Cape, an imprint of Vintage Publishing, in the UK and Commonwealth.

Anthony Horowitz is one of the most prolific and successful writers working in the UK. He has written over 40 books including the bestselling teen spy ‘Alex Rider series’, which is estimated to have sold 19 million copies worldwide. Anthony is also an acclaimed writer for adults. He was commissioned by the Conan Doyle Estate to write two new Sherlock Holmes novels; The House of Silk was published in November 2011 and was internationally lauded as the top title of the autumn. The sequel, Moriarty, was published in October 2014 with similar success. The Ian Fleming Estate then asked him to write a continuation James Bond novel, Trigger Mortis, published in 2015. In 2016, he was invited to produce a second, Forever and a Day. His standalone novel, Magpie Murders, was released in October 2016 to critical acclaim and 2017 saw the release of The Word is Murder, the first of a series of detective novels. Anthony is also responsible for creating and writing some of the UK’s most beloved and successful television series, including Midsomer Murders and Foyle’s War. In 2014, he was awarded an OBE for his services to literature.

Ian Fleming was born in 1908 and educated at Eton. He worked as a journalist for Reuters during the 1930s and then became the Assistant to the Director of Naval Intelligence during WWII. After the War he was appointed Foreign Manager of the Sunday Times and wrote a James Bond novel every year from 1952 up until his death in 1964.

• Over 100 million Bond books have been sold (and over half the world’s population has seen a Bond film!).

Ian Fleming wrote 14 James Bond books: Casino Royale (1953), Live and Let Die (1954), Moonraker (1955), Diamonds are Forever (1956), From Russia With Love (1957), Dr. No (1958), Goldfinger (1959), For Your Eyes Only (1960), Thunderball (1961), The Spy Who Loved Me (1962), On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1963), You Only Live Twice (1964), The Man with the Golden Gun (1965) and Octopussy and The Living Daylights (1966). Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels are all published by Vintage Classics in the UK. In 2017, Casino Royale, Live and Let Die and Goldfinger were published in special hardback editions.

• Fleming’s other works include the children’s favourite, Chitty-Chitty-Bang Bang (1964), which was made into a film and stage musical, The Diamond Smugglers (1957) and a collection of travel writings called Thrilling Cities (1963).

• Other previous authors of official James Bond novels include Kingsley Amis, John Gardner, Raymond Benson, Sebastian Faulks, Jeffery Deaver and William Boyd.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd. and The Ian Fleming Estate work together to protect and uphold the legacy of Ian Fleming and his writing. Their aim is to promote and make available all of Ian Fleming’s books worldwide.

• Founded in 1921, Jonathan Cape has been the home of some of the finest writing in the world for nearly a century. Its bestselling and prizewinning authors include Martin Amis, Colin Barrett, Julian Barnes, Simon Callow, Jung Chang, Mark Cocker, Roddy Doyle, Anne Enright, Helen Fielding, Adam Foulds, Mark Haddon, Michael Ondaatje, Yuval Noah Harari, Tessa Hadley, Howard Jacobson, A.L. Kennedy, Helen Macdonald, Tom McCarthy, Ian McEwan, Ottessa Moshfegh, Maggie Nelson, Audrey Niffenegger, Thomas Pynchon, Anthony Quinn, Ross Raisin, Philip Roth, Salman Rushdie, David Szalay, Irvine Welsh, Jeanette Winterson, Tom Wolfe, Alison Weir, James Wood and Evie Wyld.

For more information please visit



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh