Website last updated: 26-2-2024

By Royal Command Book Cover Revealed

By: Anders Frejdh
By royal command
Cover Artwork for Charlie Higson's fifth Young Bond book revealed, By Royal Command (2008).

Wednesday 3rd September sees the publication of By Royal Command, the fifth instalment of the globally popular Young Bond series and the eagerly anticipated unveiling of its cover. In keeping with the royal theme of the novel, the artwork is in striking red, black and silver with an embossed union-jack and regal-red edged pages.

By Royal Command sees James Bond thrown into the midst of a dangerous, spy-ridden plot that threatens to put both King and country at risk. Set between the two World Wars and moving between Eton and the chilling slopes of the Austrian Alps, BY ROYAL COMMAND sees the young James Bond put to the test as never before. Not only are his bravery and loyalty on trial, but the arrival of a pretty, young maid at Eton also teaches him a lesson of the heart.

The Young Bond books have to date sold over three quarters of a million copies in Britain alone and have been translated in to 24 different languages. The series was launched with SILVERFIN in March 2005 and was followed by BLOOD FEVER, DOUBLE OR DIE and HURRICANE GOLD.

• BY ROYAL COMMAND by Charlie Higson is published in hardback by Puffin Books on 3rd September 2008 at £12.99

• The Young Bond books are aimed at readers between nine and 14 years old

• The first Young Bond alternate reality game, THE SHADOW WAR, launched on the 23rd August. There are seven missions to complete, set weekly between 23rd August and 8th October. BY ROYAL COMMAND and the novels of the Young Bond series form key parts of the game, which can be played on

• BY ROYAL COMMAND is the fifth book in the Young Bond series which comprises SILVERFIN (March 2005), BLOOD FEVER (January 2006), DOUBLE OR DIE (January 2007), HURRICANE GOLD (Hardback - September 2007) and HURRICANE GOLD (Paperback – May 2008)

• A graphic novel version of SILVERFIN, illustrated by Kev Walker, is published by Puffin on the 2nd October 2008

• Ian Fleming Publications is the Fleming family owned company that owns and manages the intellectual property rights in the Young Bond series

Editor's note:
For more posts about Young Bond featured on From Sweden with Love, click here.

For more information about the Young Bond novels written by Charlie Higson, click here.

Visit Penguin's official Young Bond website for more information:



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh