Website last updated: 17-7-2024

Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli to receive Irvin G. Thalberg award in November 2024

By: Anders Frejdh
Barbara Broccoli, Michael Wilson, Irvin Thalberg
James Bond producers Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli will be honoured by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award. They will be presented with Oscar statuettes at the Academy’s Governors Awards event on 17th November 2024.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced that its Board of Governors voted to present the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to producers Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli, Academy Honorary Awards to Quincy Jones and Juliet Taylor and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Richard Curtis. The Oscar statuettes will be presented at the Academy’s Governors Awards event on Sunday, November 17, 2024, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Ovation Hollywood.

Governors Awards, 2024, Ovation Hollywood

While original James Bond producer Albert R. Broccoli received the Thalberg Award in 1981, Barbara Broccoli will become only the second woman ever to receive this award.

“The recipients of this year’s Governors Awards have set the bar incredibly high across their remarkable careers, and the Academy’s Board of Governors is thrilled to recognise them with Oscars,” said Academy President Janet Yang. She added:

“The selection of Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli is a testament to their success as producers of the fan-favourite Bond series and their contribution to the industry’s theatrical landscape.”

“Richard Curtis is a brilliant comedic storyteller whose tremendous charitable efforts embody the meaning of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. Quincy Jones’s artistic genius and relentless creativity have made him one of the most influential musical figures of all time. Juliet Taylor has cast iconic and beloved films and paved a new path for the field. Their profound love of cinema and indelible contribution to our art form make these five individuals truly deserving of these honours.”

Read the full press release here.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh