Website last updated: 19-11-2023

Amazon To Publish James Bond Backlist

By: Anders Frejdh
Amazon publish james bond backlist
Thomas & Mercer acquires license to publish Ian Fleming’s 14 classic James Bond books in North America.

(Seattle, WA, April 17, 2012) —, Inc. (NASDAQ:AMZN) and Ian Fleming Publications Ltd today announced that Amazon Publishing has acquired a ten-year license for North American rights to the entire list of James Bond books by Ian Fleming in print and ebook. Along with the iconic series, Fleming’s two works of non-fiction, consisting of a collection of travel writings called Thrilling Cities (1963) and an exposé of the illegal precious stones trade entitled The Diamond Smugglers (1957), are also included in the agreement. Jonny Geller, Managing Director at Curtis Brown, negotiated the agreement. All of the titles will be reissued by Amazon Publishing’s Thomas & Mercer imprint beginning in summer 2012.

“We are excited to be using the opportunity of this re-license to introduce Ian Fleming’s books to a broader audience in the USA, and we believe that Amazon Publishing has the ability to place the books back at the heart of the Bond brand, balancing traditional publishing routes with new technologies and new ways of reaching our readers,” said Corinne Turner, Managing Director of Ian Fleming Publications Ltd.

The agreement for the 14 classic James Bond titles includes the first James Bond book in the series, Casino Royale (1953) - which will celebrate 60 years of publication in 2013 as well as Live and Let Die (1954); Moonraker (1955); Diamonds are forever (1956); From Russia with love (1957); Dr. No (1958); Goldfinger (1959); For Your Eyes Only (1960); Thunderball (1961); The Spy Who Loved Me (1962); On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1963); You Only Live Twice (1964); The Man With The Golden Gun (1965) and Octopussy and The Living Daylights (1966). Since their first publication the books have sold over 100 million copies worldwide and have been the inspiration behind the world’s longest-running film franchise. Following Fleming’s death in 1964, Kingsley Amis wrote the next book in the Bond series, Colonel Sun (1968), under the name of Robert Markham. Bond novels have since been written by John Gardner, Raymond Benson, Sebastian Faulks, and Jeffery Deaver.

“We are devoted fans of Fleming’s Bond novels here at Amazon Publishing, and we’re thrilled these books - already known across the world and across generations - will continue to flourish under our Thomas & Mercer imprint,” says Philip Patrick, Director, Business Development, Rights and Licensing. “Amazon Publishing offers signature authors a new life for great backlist titles. Fleming is the perfect fit.”

Geller says, “This deal heralds a new phase in Ian Fleming’s publishing story. We are excited to be working with Amazon in North America to bring a new generation of readers to Ian Fleming’s classic novels.”

This agreement comes on the heels of the announcement last month by The Random House Group that the Bond backlist was returning to its publishing roots in the UK, with Vintage Books (sister imprint of Jonathan Cape, the original publisher of Casino Royale) acquiring a ten-year license for exclusive rights to the Bond novels in the English language with the exception of North America.

About Amazon Publishing:
Amazon Publishing is the publishing arm of Amazon Publishing’s West Coast Group includes imprints AmazonEncore, AmazonCrossing, Montlake Romance, Thomas & Mercer, and 47North. Amazon Publishing’s East Coast Group publishes adult trade, children’s and young adult titles. Amazon Publishing is a brand used by Amazon Content Services, LLC.

About Ian Fleming Publications Ltd:
Ian Fleming Publications Ltd is the Fleming family-owned company that owns the copyright in the Bond books
• Fleming’s other works include the children’s favourite, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1964), which was made into a film and stage musical.
The Ian Fleming centenary was celebrated on 28th May 2008 with the publication of Devil May Care by Sebastian Faulks.
Charlie Higson is the author of the Young Bond books which are published by Puffin in the UK
• Samantha Weinberg, writing as Kate Westbrook, is the author of the Moneypenny Diaries published by John Murray in the UK

Other literary James Bond news featured From Sweden With Love:
>Vote for Young Bond 3 title (October-2006)
>Voting process for Young Bond 3 title ended (November-2006)
>Sebastian Faulks: New James Bond continuation author (July-2007)
>James Bond theme tune search (February-2008)
>The Diamond Smugglers re-issued (July-2009)
>Thrilling Cities re-issued (July-2009)
>New James Bond novel: Project X (May-2010)
>James Bond novels launch as eBooks in the UK (November-2010)
>Project X is Carte Blanche (Jan-2011)
>John Gardner's James Bond novels to be reprinted (March-2011)
>Carte Blanche: International publishers (May-2011)
>Carte Blanche: UK Publication events (May-2011)
>John Gardner's James Bond titles re-issued (June-2011)
>Ian Fleming Publications appoints Curtis Brown (June-2011)
>Ian Fleming bibliography announced (February-2012)
>James Bond returns home (March-2012)
>William Boyd to write new James Bond novel (April-2012)
>60 years of James Bond novels (April-2013)

Photo above:
CASINO ROYALE © Ian Fleming Publications. Cover designed by Ian Fleming, image courtesy Ian Fleming Publications and the Ian Fleming Will Trust Ltd 1953. All rights reserved.

Visit the official website of Ian Fleming Publications for the latest literary Bond news:



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2023 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2023 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh

$( document ).ready(function() { //showMessDown("Du godkänner att vi använder Cookies när du besöker vår hemsida. Du kan läsa mer om dessa under 'Villkor'. "); console.log(""); //$("head").append( '' ); // $("head").append( '' ); $('head').append(''); $('head').append(''); }); //Test //console.log('');