Website last updated: 26-2-2024

Penny Dreadful Premieres On HBO Nordic

By: FSWL team
Penny Dreadful HBO Nordic 2014
Penny Dreadful, a new mini- series in eight parts, will premiere in Sweden on HBO Nordic where the first two episodes of the new thriller series is available from May 19th. (The series is first broadcast by Showtime where it premieres on May 11th.)

Penny Dreadful is an intense psychological thriller series written and produced by Academy Award nominee John Logan (Hugo, Gladiator, Skyfall (2012)) and Academy Award winner Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Skyfall & Bond 24). Josh Hartnett, Eva Green (Vesper Lynd in Casino Royale), Timothy Dalton (James Bond in The Living Daylights & Licence to Kill), Rory Kinnear (Skyfall & Bond 24) and Helen McCrory (Skyfall) are some of the many prominent actors in the cast.

In Penny Dreadful, some of literature's most terrifying characters meet in Victorian London, Dr. Frankenstein and his creation Dorian Gray. Dracula and other iconic monsters also appear in the series that gives new life to classic horror.

The first two episodes of Penny Dreadful is directed by Juan Antonio Bayona who is behind films like The Orphanage and The Impossible.

This marks the second collaboration between John Logan and Sam Mendes after their work on the successful Bond film (Skyfall) and the first time they work for a television production.

Official trailer for Penny Dreadful published February 14, 2014: (thanks to Showtime)

Editor's note:
Earlier this year, HBO Nordic broadcast the miniseries Fleming: The Man Who Would Be Bond starring Dominic Cooper in the role of Ian Fleming.

Photo above:
Eva Green (as Vanessa Ives) in the miniseries Penny Dreadful. © 2014 HBO Nordic. All rights reserved.

Visit HBO Nordic's official website for the latest information on the miniseries Penny Dreadful:



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh