Website last updated: 21-3-2024

Stockholm-Based Cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema

By: Anders Frejdh
Hoyte van Hoytema SPECTRE cinematographer
A celebration of the talented and much loved cinematographer (director of photograpy) Hoyte van Hoytema who lives in Stockholm since many years. SPECTRE was Hoyte van Hoytema's first James Bond film.

With this special page, From Sweden with Love would like to celebrate Hoyte van Hoytema on his birthday.

"Dear Hoyte, happy birthday and keep up the great work."

About Hoyte van Hoytema:
Hoyte van Hoytema (born 1971) is an award-winning cinematographer. A native of The Netherlands, he began his career studying at the esteemed Polish National Film School in Lodz before going on to shoot several films, commercials, documentaries and TV series in Sweden, Norway, Germany and the United Kingdom.

In 2006, Hoyte founded Furious People with his Swedish wife Mia.

In 2008, Hoyte’s cinematography for Swedish director Tomas Alfredson’s critically-acclaimed masterpiece Let the Right One In earned him several awards and the attention of world-renowned filmmakers. David O. Russell hired Hoyte to shoot his 2010 film The Fighter starring Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale. The following year, he re-teamed with Alfredson on Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2010) for which both the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) and BAFTA nominated Hoyte for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Hoyte then shot Spike Jonze’s futuristic love story Her in 2013. Christopher Nolan next brought Hoyte on to film Interstellar, which brought him another BAFTA nomination.

After SPECTRE, Hoyte worked on the short Kenzo World (2016) and is currently working on Dunkirk (2017) which marks his second collaboration with director Christopher Nolan.

Photo above:
Hoyte van Hoytema with Daniel Craig (James Bond) and Ben Whishaw (Q) during the filming of SPECTRE in London in December 2014.

For more information about Hoyte van Hoytema, check out his IMDB profile.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh