Website last updated: 17-7-2024

Britt Ekland And George Lazenby At Muscat Film Festival

By: Anders Frejdh
Britt Ekland George Lazenby John Glen Muscat fest
Over 90 countries will be participating in the 7th Muscat International Film Festival (MIFF) in Oman with James Bond related guests in attendance.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the first James Bond film, Dr. No (1962), and will undoubtedly see wild debate as to who has been the best 007 over the years. The current holder of the licence to kill, Daniel Craig, is likely to attract a significant portion of the votes, having given Bond a tough, small-swimming trunks, fist-fights-over-ludicrous-gadgets twist, while the old favourites Sean Connery and Roger Moore will probably be shaking and stirring things up in second place.

Former James Bond star Sir Roger Moore will be in Oman as part of the 7th Muscat International Film Festival.

March 30 is the Special James Bond Day at the MIFF and The Spy Who Loved Me (1977) will be screened for the public in the presence of the super legend. Sir Roger will also be honoured at the MIFF at the closing ceremony on March 31.

The second actor to portray Ian Fleming's super-spy on the big screen, George Lazenby, will also be jetting into Oman for the festival and his film, On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1969), will be screened during the day.

Adding to the Bond appreciation comes John Glen, who has directed more 007s than any other filmmaker, and Britt Ekland, Roger Moore's famously ditzy Bond girl in The Man with the Golden Gun (1974).

The festival might not make as much noise as its regional counterparts in Dubai, Abu Dhabi or Doha, but this year boasts a line-up just as impressive. Apart from the Bond guests, other names on the guest list include Susan Sarandon, Forest Whitaker and Omar Sharif.

Editor's note:
The Bond festivities takes place in the Oman Auditorium located at AL Bustan Palace Hotel.

For the latest information, visit the official website.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh