Website last updated: 7-5-2024

Metal Gear Solid 2 - Sons Of Liberty By Raymond Benson

By: FSWL team
Metalgearsolid2 sons of liberty raymond benson
Publication for a new novel written by James Bond continuation novelist Raymond Benson - METAL GEAR SOLID 2 - SONS OF LIBERTY the second book based on Konami's popular videogame series. (The first being METAL GEAR SOLID published in May 2008.)


In a torrential downpour, former FOXHOUND agent Solid Snake stands on the George Washington Bridge–ready to launch himself onto the deck of the U.S.S. Discovery as it passes below. Inside Discovery is a new generation of Metal Gear. But in the next hour, Snake’s world explodes.

Two years later, a young, unproven agent code-named Raiden must penetrate the mystery of what went so insanely wrong that night.

In a labyrinthine superstructure in New York Harbor known as the Big Shell, enemies, allies, secret agents, and double-dealers converge: Russian commandos, a cyber Vamp, a long-legged, leather-clad, rifle-bearing beauty named Fortune, a deformed, finely manicured bomber called Fatman, and a mysterious Mister X. Somewhere in the maze, as well, is the president himself–his biometrics coded to a bomb that can take out Manhattan, his loyalties unknown. Now the rookie Raiden is fighting his way to one discovery after another, including the rebirth of Solid Snake himself and a nightmare organization with a history, a plan, and a terrifying superweapon hidden in plain sight.

About Raymond Benson
Between 1996 and 2002, Raymond Benson was commissioned by the James Bond literary copyright holders to take over writing the 007 novels. In total he penned and published worldwide six original 007 novels (including ZERO MINUS TEN, NEVER DREAM OF DYING, THE MAN WITH THE RED TATTOO), three film novelizations, and three short stories.

An anthology of his Bond work, entitled THE UNION TRILOGY, was published in October 2008. Benson's book THE JAMES BOND BEDSIDE COMPANION, an encyclopedic work on the 007 phenomenon, was first published in 1984 and was nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award by Mystery Writers of America for Best Biographical/Critical Work.

Benson has also written non-Bond novels: FACE BLIND (2003), EVIL HOURS (2004), and SWEETIE'S DIAMONDS (2006). The Pocket Essentials GUIDE TO JETHRO TULL was published in 2002. Using the pseudonym "David Michaels," Benson is also the author of the NY Times best-selling books Tom Clancy's SPLINTER CELL (2004) and its sequel Tom Clancy's SPLINTER CELL—OPERATION BARRACUDA (2005).

Benson's latest venture is an original series of "rock 'n' roll thrillers." The first title was A HARD DAY'S DEATH, published in April 2008. The sequel, DARK SIDE OF THE MORGUE, was published in March 2009.

Book details
Trade Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Del Rey
Language: English
Cover price: 14 US dollar
ISBN-10: 0-345-50343-0
ISBN-13: 978-0-345-50343-5

Order the book from Random House.



Tag Cloud

Bond 25 Bond girls Bond villains Britt Ekland Daniel Craig Dolph Lundgren George Lazenby Izabella Scorupco James Bond museum Kristina Wayborn Mary Stavin Maud Adams No Time To Die Ola Rapace Pierce Brosnan Roger Moore Sean Connery Spectre Timothy Dalton

All information, text and graphics (unless otherwise stated) on this website are protected by copyright law. Please contact us to use anything.

This website is not in any way endorsed by EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Sony Pictures, United Artists, Ian Fleming Publications, or any other James Bond copyright holders. It is an independently run non-profit website from a personal basis in spare time.

James Bond film images © 1962 - 2024 EON Productions Ltd, Danjaq LLC, MGM Inc. and United Artists Cooperation.

James Bond book covers © 1953 - 2024 Ian Fleming Publications and Glidrose Productions Ltd.

Founder & Managing Editor: Anders Frejdh